I must confess that I haven't been to the Oregon Licensing Board website in awhile to keep abreast of the changes in the licensing procedures.
Awhile as in...like, uhhh, 5 years or so. I decided to go check it out.
I got scared. Daunting, to say the least...
Here's what my state says about midwives...
A licensed direct entry midwife (LDM) supervises the conduct and labor of childbirth, advises the parent as to the progress of childbirth, and renders prenatal, intrapartum and postpartum care. Licensed direct entry midwives provide care in the home, in birthing centers, clinics, and as teachers at midwifery schools. Licensure is voluntary, and unlicensed midwives may practice in Oregon. However, Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 687.415 allows reimbursement under the Oregon Health Plan only if a licensed midwife provides birthing assistance. Only LDMs are legally authorized to administer legend drugs and devices.
Which means if you AREN'T licensed, you can't bill the Oregon Health Plan (which is about 50% of your clientele) and you can't carry O2 and some VERY helpful medications.
That being said.....
Here's the fee structure -
Duration of License: One year
Application fee: $100
Original license: $1,500
Renewal fee: $1,500 (YEP, YEARLY).
and that's "US Dollars" not "Pesos".
The website says that as of June, 2005, there are 39.
So here's what I have to do to be licensed...
An applicant for licensure must have completed the minimum core competencies adapted from the 1997 Edition of the Midwives Alliance of North America (MANA) under 332-015-0040.
The applicant must have also participated in 25 assisted deliveries, 25 deliveries in which the applicant was the primary care provider, 100 prenatal care visits, 25 newborn examinations and 40 postnatal examinations under OAR 332-015-0010(2).
In addition, the applicant must possess current CPR certification for adults and newborns, required education (by April 30, 2004) in approved legend drugs and devices under OAR 332-015-0070, and a written plan for emergency transport identifying care provided to a mother and infant should complications arise during delivery.
Examination: A passing score on the written examination administered by the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) under OAR 332-015-0050 is also required.Qualification requirements can be found in ORS 687.420(1) — Standards for licensing.
So now you know.
And I do, too.
Looks like I've got alot of work to do.
God, You know how daunting this task looks. Yet you know it is my dream. I'm begging for courage here, Father. In Jesus name...